Wednesday, April 30, 2008

Deidre Delisi, Perry's former chief of staff, takes Ric Williamson's place at the Texas Transportation Commission

Daughter-In Law Of Local Lawmaker Will Chair Transportation Commission

April 30, 2008

KWTX Channel 10 News
Copyright 2008

Gov. Rick Perry named Deidre Delisi, the daughter in law of State Rep. Dianne White Delisi, R-Temple, to chair the powerful Texas Transportation Commission Tuesday.

Delisi, who succeeds the late Ric Williamson of Weatherford as chairman, was appointed to a term that expires on Feb. 1, 2013.

Perry also named William Meadows of Fort Worth to the commission.

Over the last 12 years, Delisi has served as Perry’s chief of staff and deputy chief of staff, a special assistant to Perry when he was lieutenant governor, and as a policy advisory to the presidential campaigns of Lamar Alexander and George W. Bush.

Meadows is chairman of Hub International Rigg and serves as vice chairman of the North Texas Tollway Authority and as a trustee of the Hatton W. Sumners Foundation.

“Texas faces serious challenges in providing a transportation infrastructure that will sustain our state’s rapid pace of population and trade growth,” Perry said in a statement issued Wednesday.

“Both Deirdre and Bill have the integrity and expertise to ensure that these needs are met efficiently and responsibly.

“I am confident their contribution to the commission will maintain the momentum of the late Commissioner Ric Williamson’s pioneering vision, and secure comprehensive transportation solutions that will reduce traffic congestion, improve safety and keep our state’s doors open to economic growth and success.”

Williamson, 55, died of a heart attack in December.

He was a longtime friend of Perry’s and lead advocate for Perry's Trans Texas Corridor project.

He was 55.

Williamson and Perry were conservative Democratic colleagues in the Texas House during 1980s before both joined the GOP.

Williamson served in the Legislature for more than 20 years before Perry named him to the transportation commission in 2001.

Williamson became chairman in 2004.

The five-member commission oversees the Texas Department of Transportation.

© 2008 Gray Television Group, Inc.:

To search TTC News Archives click HERE

To view the Trans-Texas Corridor Blog click HERE