Friday, June 06, 2008

“Since I-69 was incorporated into the TTC, the new route has rightly drawn fierce public opposition."

Brady Urges Removal Of I-69 From TTC

Jun 6, 2008

Carmen Izzo
KBTX (Bryan, College Station)
Copyright 2008

WASHINGTON, D.C. - U.S. Congressman Kevin Brady lead a group of nine Texas lawmakers on Friday, from both political parties, in urging the Texas Department of Transportation to remove the Interstate 69 project from the controversial Trans-Texas Corridor and return it to its original route which brings existing highways U.S. 59, U.S. 281 and U.S 77 up to interstate standards.

In a letter to Deirdre Delisi, the new chair of the Texas Transportation Commission, the lawmakers maintain that “public support for the original I-69 project - which focused on bringing existing highways up to interstate standards and existed long before the Trans-Texas Corridor was proposed - will be difficult to maintain should the project continue to be included in the TTC concept.”

Brady stated, “As advocates in Washington for better Texas roads, we want I-69 removed from the Trans-Texas Corridor and the original route along existing highways restored.

There is new leadership at the Texas Department of Transportation and we believe they will listen with an open mind to our strong concerns."

The original I-69 project began fifteen years ago, long before the Trans-Texas Corridor was proposed, said Brady.

The original route enjoyed strong public support from county officials and economic development leaders along the route because it upgraded existing highways like U.S. 59, reduced congestion and improved safety for motorists.

“Since the project was incorporated into the TTC, the new route runs through our rural communities and has rightly drawn fierce public opposition from landowners, ranchers and community leaders. We want it put back. ”

Texas Republican members of Congress signing the letter include Kevin Brady, John Culberson, and Ron Paul. Democrats include Gene Green, Al Green, Sheila Jackson Lee, Nick Lampson, Ruben Hinojosa and Solomon Ortiz.

© 2008, KBTX-TV

To search TTC News Archives click HERE

To view the Trans-Texas Corridor Blog click HERE